Achieve Wellness

Helping you achieve all of your goals!

Thank You Thursday

Leave a comment

For me summer means a slowing down of clients and that means less income.   It is in times like these that I can start to get into scarcity thinking with my finances.  Nothing can create lack and scarcity like focusing on lack and scarcity.  When I start to feel these feels creeping up on me, I like to do a gratitude exercise.

If you are experiencing any feelings of lack in your life whether it be finances love health or otherwise you can use this exercise is well.
Write down 10 things you are grateful you can afford. Now some of these things may be a stretch and could even be things that you think you should be cutting out of your budget, but that’s OK write them down anyhow.

Here is my list:

  1. I am grateful I can afford to rent a beautiful home in a lovely neighborhood.
  2. I am grateful I can afford to put gasoline in my car.
  3. I am grateful I can afford to eat out 2 nights per week.
  4. I am grateful I can afford to get an manicure every 4 weeks.
  5. I am grateful I can afford to buy healthy food.
  6. I am grateful I can afford to pay for my electricity, water, and other utilities.
  7. I am grateful I can afford to donate money to my favorite charities.
  8. I am grateful I can afford to put money into savings each week.
  9. I am grateful I can afford to buy fun toys and treats for my dog.
  10. I am grateful I can afford to take a vacation every year.

Creating a list of ALL of the things you are grateful you can afford draws your attention to how much you have to be grateful for and away from those icky feelings of lack.  Dwelling on the positive helps you be open to seeing the possibilities and opportunities that surround you and once you can see the creative options that abound then you can take action to create and even bigger list of things you can afford.

If you cannot come up with 10 things, don’t worry.  If necessary, start with a few items and gradually add to the list as you think of more things you are grateful you can afford.  I promise, as you write you will think of more and more.  

 

If you are having trouble getting into the space of gratitude, contact me for a 1-on-1 session at achievewellness@ymail.com.  I would love to help you find your inner gratitude.

Leave a comment