Achievewellnessphx

Helping you achieve all of your goals!

Back to Work

Leave a comment

I have taken the past few months off from blogging to reconnect with and refocus on my goals.

I find that often we spend so much time working to achieve our goals that we forget why we wanted to achieve them in the first place.  For example, we get so caught up in earning that higher income that we forget the reason we wanted it was so that we could spend more time with our family, when in actuality our pursuit of the goal has left us with LESS family time.

During my “hiatus”, I took a few days to revisit each my goals.  I asked myself several questions about each goal:

  • Why did I want to achieve this goal in the first place?
  • Am I making progress toward this goal?
    • Why or why not?
  • Is this still a realistic goal?
  • How important is this goal to me, now?
  • What would it take for me to achieve this goal in the next 12 months?
  • Do I still want to achieve this goal?

I spent 3-4 days on each of my goals.  Every day I would read and respond to the questions.  Each time, I responded on a separate sheet of paper.  After a few days of writing and contemplating, I would review my answers to see how they changed or progressed.  Based on my responses, I either recommitted to the goal, revised the goal to make it more realistic/challenging/inspiring, or in some cases got rid of a goal altogether.

For me this was an eye-opening exercise.  As I reconnected with my goals, I found that I was on track and still inspired by many of them, but with others I found that not only did they not excite me, but that my reasons for wanting them in the first place were not in the interest of my greater good,  For example, I wanted them to please someone else or to prove to others what I could achieve.

As a result, I have a new list of goals and achievements, some old, some new, and some modified.  I have a better focus on what my achievement priorities are, new ideas on how to reach them, and a new excitement, passion and commitment to my dreams and desires.

If you have not taken the time lately to reassess your goals I encourage you to do so.  It can be an educational and stimulating exercise as well as bring you clarity on what you truly want and why you want it.

Until next time,

Good Luck and Have Fun!!!!

Leave a Reply

