Achievewellnessphx

Helping you achieve all of your goals!

Stay Focused on Your Goals

Leave a comment

Happy December!

Throughout the year, I have been sharing methods you can use to help identify and achieve your goals.  Click here to review these posts.

As we move through December and the holiday season, it can become increasingly difficult to maintain our focus on the goals we set for ourselves several months ago.  Work, family, parties, shopping, etc. can all serve as distractions that weaken our resolve or even undo the progress we have made thus far.  In addition, feelings of apathy or failure can creep in and suddenly we are thinking, “Well, I have not achieved my goal yet.  There is no point in trying now with only a few weeks left in the year.  I think I’ll give up!  Maybe next year…”  Yikes!!!!!

Despite the stress, frenzy, and interruptions to our “normal” routine this time of year brings, NOW is the time to recommit yourself to your goals. You have worked too hard all year to let your dreams fall by the wayside even for a few short weeks.

Here is what I would like to propose you do to stay on track:

  • Spend a few moments today reviewing your goals for the year.  
  • Determine which 1-2 of those goals you will have the most difficult time staying true to through December.
    • Will holiday shopping interfere with the financial goals you set for yourself?
    • Will the constant barrage of holiday parties, drinks, and cookies wreak havoc with your health and fitness goals?
    • Will extra time spent socializing and running errands block one of your personal goals?
  • Take out a 4×6 index card (or a piece of paper) and write down 3-4 things you are committed to doing to keep your focus on your goal.
  • Post the card somewhere you will see it several times a day and be reminded to stay focused.

Here is an example of the commitments I made for December.

One of my goals was to pay down my credit card debt through 2016.  I have been somewhat successful in doing so, however I LOVE to buy presents at Christmas!  LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT!  Unfortunately this conflicts with my debt-reducing goal.  So, here are the commitments I made to my finances this month:

  1. I am committed to asking before EVERY purchase, is this a “want” or a “need”?
  2. I am committed to sticking to my monthly budget.  
    1. BTW – I budgeted a small amount of money for “wants” this month.
  3. I am committed to tracking my daily expenses and revenues.
  4. I am committed to putting a minimum of $100 into my savings account this month.

So there you have it, a simple surefire way to maintain your focus on your goals for the remainder of 2016.  Give it a try, and let me know if it works for you!

Wishing you a safe, successful holiday season!

Don’t forget to follow me on FACEBOOK!

Leave a Reply

