Achievewellnessphx

Helping you achieve all of your goals!

Choose to Achieve

6 Comments

In past blogs, I have encouraged you to make a list of the things you want to achieve in the next 2 years.  If you missed past blogs you can check them out here.

If it has been a few weeks since you looked at your list, now is a great time to review your goals.

This month, rather than just reading over our lists, we are going to take some time to rewrite it.  However, we aren’t simply going to rehash old words.  We are going to kick our achievements up a notch.  How you may ask?  By adding the words, “I choose…” to the beginning of each achievement.

Sometimes, when we create a goal or a dream it becomes something we HAVE TO do:

“I have to lose 10lbs by summer.”
“I have to become a successful author.”
“I have to find my soul mate.”

We forget that this was something we wanted to do.  Now, our goal has become work rather than something we enjoy or look forward to achieving.  Our dream gets lost in the drudgery of day-to-day life.  Slowly, we become less enthusiastic about our dream, particularly if we are not seeing much progress.

By rewriting our goals with the words, “I choose” in front of them, we remind ourselves that this goal was one WE chose to create, not something put upon us by family, coworkers, or society.  It reignites our original passion for our dream.  It reminds us WE are in charge of our success!

So, without further ado, here is what I choose to achieve in 2016-2017:

Finances

  • I CHOOSE to purchase a Jeep Wrangler XL by 12/1/16

Career/Professional

  • I CHOOSE to sell >500 copies of Cooking with Your Canine by 12/31/16
  • I  CHOOSE to have >1000 followers to my health and wellness blog by 11/1/16

Contributions

  • I CHOOSE to donate $1000 to children charities in 2016

Relationships

  • I CHOOSE to develop 5 new friendships by 3/1/17

Fun/Recreation

  • I CHOOSE to take 4, 3-4 day vacations in 2016
  • I  CHOOSE to take a safari in Africa by 8/31/17

Personal

  • I CHOOSE to spend a minimum of 15 minutes per day meditating or doing a guided meditation

Health and Fitness 

  • I CHOOSE to improve my flexibility by spending at least 15 minutes every day stretching or doing yoga

 

Now that you’ve seen my list, add a few of the achievements you choose to make in the comment section below.  This is a great way to display your commitment to you dream and gain the support of fellow dreamers!

If you enjoyed this post, don’t forget to “LIKE” us on Facebook!

6 thoughts on “Choose to Achieve

  1. How are you doing on these goals? How are they coming along?

    As people trying to push our lives further and do more with our one wild and precious life, it’s so important to maintain circles of supportive people. Let me know of any awesome accomplishments.

  2. Thank for checking in on me 🙂
    Some of the goals are going quite well. I have been meditating and doing yoga daily. Each week I am setting aside money for the down payment on the Jeep. I am thrilled to say that the blog traffic and followers are growing each week. I have another weekend trip planned for September. I am still working on promoting my book and myself (the more friends part) and the donating to charities is a slow process (just a little bit each week), but over all I am following the plan I created and seeing results!

  3. As I was reading I think wow this is some serious work here. Good stuff indeed now if I can just apply it. Any suggestions how to even just get there?! I need to work on being still being quiet. How?!

    • Thank you, I am glad you found it helpful.
      What a terrific question!!
      The best way to work on being still and quiet is to work on being still and quiet. Make a commitment to spend 10-15 minutes each day meditating or doing a relaxation visualization. Completely stilling the mind is impossible and it will take time for you to learn to be still, thoughts will come and go, when they do acknowledge them and let them float away like balloons.
      I suffer from monkey mind and it has taken years of practice for me to learn to sit quietly.
      Patience and practice are the key.
      Good luck! Let me know how it goes!

  4. Scheduling some “ME” time into your calendar is a great idea. It is important to take care of yourself if you are going to reach your goals.
    That said, if taking 10-15 minutes every day causes stress and a “I have to” then allow yourself to be more flexible. As you said, rigidity is counterintuitive. Make a choice to give yourself time to be quiet and still.

Leave a Reply

